Powered by Blogger.

Bliss - Bliss 1969 (Repost)

Biography : Recorded in Phoenix Arizona's Audio Records with producer Hadley Murrell (who also contributed a pair of songs), 1969's "Bliss" was released by the L.A.-based Canyon Records. Musically the LP offered up a mix of originals (all three members contributing material), and blues covers. Interestingly, based on the cover which shows a chalice and a young, angry looking priest, our initial expectations were that this might be a Christian-rock LP. Those thoughts were reinforced by the opener "Ride the Ship of Fool" which blended a nice melody with sweet harmonies and a pseudo-religious lyric and "Cry for Love". While those characteristics are enough to send a large segment of the population running for cover, in this case the results aren't half bad. The religious sentiments are kept in check throughout and are wrapped in a series of tasty rockers. Powered by Aldred's powerhouse drumming and Reed's fuzz guitar (check out "VIsions" and their cover of Joe Tex's "I Want To be Free"), this is simply a great LP!.

01.Ride the Ship of Fools 4:21
02.Cry for Love 4:50
03.Gangster of Love 2:58
04.I Want To Be Free 3:00
05.Visions 3:35
06.Don't Think 2:07
07.I'm Gonna Hurt You 2:03
08.Make My Old Soul New 2:05
09.Rock Me Baby 3:28

Bliss :
Corky Aldred - vocals, drums
Rusty Martin - bass
Brad Reed - vocals, guitar